Some states see a DWI as more severe than a DUI. However, a DWI and a DUI in North Carolina are considered the same serious allegation.
Common Defenses for a DWI Case
When charged with DWI, there are valid defenses you can use. It includes:
- The police did not have reasonable suspicion of articulable facts and pulled you over illegally.
- The breath test could have been more reliable.
- Inappropriate handling of blood tests.
- Police failed to perform the field sobriety test correctly.
DWI Penalties in North Carolina
The penalties you could receive for DWI include a steep fine, jail time, community service hours at a non-profit organization, substance abuse treatment, and classes, attending a victim-impact panel, possible suspension of your driver’s license, wearing an alcohol-detection device around your ankle, the installation and connection of a breathalyzer in your vehicle.
Even the most minor DWI causes a significant fine in addition to 60 days of jail time. These minor penalties can increase to at least a $10,000 fine and three years in jail.
Can You Get A DWI Reduced?
North Carolina law states that there is little to no hope of having a DWI penalty reduced or dropped, even if you have a spotless driving record and no prior convictions. Therefore, your DWI attorney in Caswell County must examine your case closely, as each case is complex.
Limited Driving Privilege
A Caswell DWI lawyer recognizes that you must drive to work and follow your routine schedule. Therefore, you can possibly get a limited driver’s license reinstated. This limited license allows you to drive to work, medical appointments, and school.
If you are looking for a Caswell County DWI attorney, the Law Office of Tony Huynh is here to help. Call us today to get started.