Consequences of Driving While License is Revoked
North Carolina considers driving with a revoked license to be an extremely serious charge. If you were convicted of driving while impaired and then decided to drive your vehicle after your license was revoked, the infraction is considered to be even worse. It is at this time that an affordable traffic attorney NC is necessary to reduce the consequences of these charges as much as possible.
The consequences for driving while impaired include license revocation, but if you fail to obtain proof that you have a valid insurance policy, you will be subject to further penalties after your license has been reinstated. This also occurs if a law enforcement officer stops you while your revocation is in place.
Driving with a Revoked License.
North Carolina enacted a law against a motorist’s ability to operate a vehicle on a public road after his license has been revoked. The language of this law is very specific. For example, motorists are not allowed to have “physical control” of the vehicle after their licenses were revoked. This can include the time when someone is sitting in the driver’s seat while the motor is running. The car doesn’t have to be moving in this circumstance.
If a North Carolina resident breaks this rule, she will receive a Class 3 misdemeanor and will be subject to a 20-day jail sentence. She may also receive a fine of $200.
Revocation After Conviction on Driving While Intoxicated.
If a motorist drives a vehicle on a revoked license after conviction for DWI, the Class 3 misdemeanor will become a Class 1 misdemeanor. First-time offenders may receive a jail sentence of up to 45 days.
After being caught driving with a revoked license, your driving rights will be in jeopardy. First, another 365 days will be added to the revocation period. If you are convicted a second time for driving with a revoked license, two years will be added to the revocation period. If you drive with a revoked license and are arrested a third time, the revocation will be permanent.
In addition to the penalties listed above, the court may force you to accept a 90-day alcohol monitoring system while you are on probation.
Consequences of Driving on a Revoked License.
Even if you were not convicted on a DWI charge, driving without a license is still very serious. Driving with a revoked license can cause the courts to give you significant penalties. After your insurance agent learns that you were convicted of driving on a revoked license, he or she will increase your rates to astronomical heights. It could also affect your ability to go to work and get back home again. If the court convicted you of driving while impaired, the penalties will be even more devastating.
The stakes are very high after you have been driving with a revoked license. If this happens around the Alamance / Pittsboro area, you should consider hiring a local Traffic Lawyer Alamance NC, or a Chatham County Traffic Attorney right away. A Pittsboro traffic attorney will work very hard for those arrested for driving with revoked licenses. This charge requires a Randolph County traffic lawyer to fight for you both inside and outside of the courtroom. That’s because these charges can affect your ability to live your life as you see fit. It also affects your freedom.
If you need in help in Pittsboro, contact a Chatham County traffic lawyer today to help you extricate yourself from your current troubles. At the law office of Tony Huynh, we have the qualifications and the experience necessary to make sure that the prosecution does not trample all over your rights, and we will fight for you in the courtroom so that you don’t have to take part in it.