North Carolina Insurance Points

At the Law Office of Tony Huynh, you are not just another client.

North Carolina Insurance Points

If you have any questions concerning insurance points, contact your insurance agency.

Safe Driver Incentive Plan

Created by state law to give drivers a financial incentive to practice safe driving habits. SDIP points are charged during the Experience Period (the 3-year period preceding either the date an individual applies for coverage or the insurance company prepares to renew an existing policy)

SDIP PointsConvictions and At-Fault Accident Points% of Rate Increase

1
  • All other moving violations
  • Speeding 10 mph over or less over a speed limit under 55 mph
  • At-fault accident resulting in bodily injury (to all persons) of $1800 or less; OR resulting in prop. Damage (including damage to insured’s own prop.) of $1850 or less. Accidents that occur on/after October 1, 2017, resulting in total prop. Damage (including insured’s own) of $2300 or less.
  • No Insurance Points will apply for bodily injury if medical costs were incurred solely for diagnostic purposes
30%
2
  • Illegal passing
  • Following too closely
  • Driving on wrong side of road
  • At-fault accidents that occur on/after March 1, 2016 and prior to October 1, 2017, resulting in total prop. Damage (including insured’s prop.) over $1850 but under $3085. Accidents that occur on/after October 1, 2017, resulting in total prop. Damage (including insured’s own) over $2300 but less than $3850
  • Speeding more than 10 mph over speed limit at total speed of more than 55 mph and less than 76 mph
  • Speeding 10 mph or less over speed limit in speed zone of 55 mph or higher
45%
3
  • At-fault accident resulting in death/total bodily injury (to all persons) of more than $1800; OR resulting in total prop. Damage (including insured’s own_ of $3085 or more. Accidents that occur on/after October 1, 2017, that result in total damage to all prop. (including insured’s own) of $3085 or more.
  • No Insurance Points will apply for bodily injury if the medical costs were incurred solely for diagnostic purposes.
60%
4
  • Reckless driving
  • Hit and run resulting in prop. Damage only
  • Passing stopped school bus
  • Speeding in excess of 75 mph when speed limit is less than 70 mph
  • Speeding in excess of 80 mph when speed limit is 70 mph or more
  • Driving by a person less than age 21 after consuming alcohol/drugs
80%
8
  • Driving during revocation/suspension of license/registration
  • Aggressive driving
195%
10
  • Highway racing/knowingly lending a vehicle for highway racing
  • Speeding to elude arrest
260%
12
  • Manslaughter/negligent homicide
  • Prearranged highway racing/knowingly lending a vehicle for prearranged highway racing
  • Hit and run resulting in bodily injury/death
  • Driving with blood alcohol level of .08 or more
  • Driving commercial vehicle with blood alcohol level of .04 or more
  • DWI
  • Transporting illegal intoxicating liquor for sale
340%

No SDIP Points Will Be Charged For…

An accident provided all the following are true:

  • There is only prop. Damage
  • The amount of damage is $1850 or less (prior to Oct. 1, 2017) or $2300 or less (after Oct. 1, 2017)
  • There is no conviction for a moving violation in connection with accident; and
  • No licensed operators in the household have convictions/at-fault accidents during the experience period.

Speeding 10 mph or less over the posted speed limit; provided all the following are true:

  • The violation didn’t occur in a SZ; and
  • There is not another moving traffic violation for the experience period. An isolated PJC will not count as a prior conviction for the purpose of this exception

One PJC for each household every three years; however:

  • A second PJC may cause points to be charged according to the underlying convictions

An example of how 3 points could impact premiums
For 6 months of full coverage:

Cost of car ins. For mom and dad $991
Cost of car ins. For mom, dad, and 16 y.o $1,730
Cost of car ins. For mom, dad and 16 y.o who had an accident $2,094

 

Referenced by NC DMV and N.C.G.S. 58-36-65 and 58-36-75.

Let's talk

At the Law Office of Tony Huynh, you will get my devoted professional law services at an affordable rate.