North Carolina Driver License Points System

At the Law Office of Tony Huynh, you are not just another client.

North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles Driver License Points System

If your DL is suspended by the point system, it may be taken for:
60 days (first suspension);
6 months (second suspension); and
12 months (third suspension)

When your driving privilege is reinstated, all previous DL points are canceled. This does not pertain to insurance points.

ConvictionPoint Value

Passing a stopped school bus 5
Aggressive Driving 5
Reckless Driving 4
Hit and run, property damage only 4
Following too closely 4
Driving on wrong side of road 4
Illegal passing 4
Fail to yield right of way to pedestrian 4
Fail to yield right of way to bike, scooter, motorcycle 4
Running through stop sign 3
Speeding in excess of 55 mph 3
Fail to yield right of way 3
Running red light 3
No DL/DL expired more than one year 3
Fail to stop for siren 3
Driving through safety zone 3
No liability ins. 3
Fail to report accident where such report is required 3
Speeding in SZ in excess of posted SZ speed limit 3
Fail to properly restrain child in SB 2
All other moving violations 2
Littering when involving use of vehicle 1

Point values for conviction of violations while operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle or CDL

ConvictionPoint Value

Passing stopped school bus 8
Rail-highway crossing violation 6
C/R driving 6
Speeding in violation of G.S. 20-141(j3) 6
Aggressive driving 6
Reckless driving 5
High and run, property damage only 5
Following too closely 5
Driving on wrong side of road 5
Illegal passing 5
Fail to yield right of way to pedestrian 5
Fail to yield right of way to bike, scooter, or motorcycle 5
Running stop sign 4
Speeding in excess of 55 mph 4
Fail to yield right of way 4
Running red light 4
No DL/DL expired more than one year 4
Fail to stop for siren 4
Driving through safety zone 4
No liability ins 4
Fail to report accident where report required 4
Speeding in SZ in excess of posted SZ speed limit 4
Possessing alcohol in passenger area of commercial motor vehicle 4
All other moving violations 3
Literring when involves use of motor vehicle 1

Suspensions

The DMV can also suspend your license for:

  • Two convictions of speeding over 55 mph with in a period of 12 months;
  • One conviction of speeding over 55 mph and one conviction of reckless driving within a year;
  • A conviction of willful racing with another vehicle, whether prearranged/unplanned
  • A suspended court sentence or part of a sentence mandating you must not operate a vehicle for a specified period of time; and/or
  • A conviction for speeding over 75 mph, in certain cases.

In these cases, the DMV may suspend your driving privilege as soon as it received the conviction report from the court.

OffenseSuspension Time

Manslaughter 1 year
Death by vehicle 1 year
Manslaughter while under the influence of an impairing substance Permanent
Assault with a vehicle 1 year
Fail to stop and give aid when involved in an accident 1 year
Speeding in excess of 55 mph and at least 15 mph over the legal limit while attempting to avoid arrest 1 year
Prearranged racing with another vehicle on the high way *3 years
Watching, betting on or loaning a car for prearranged racing *3 years
Willful refusal to submit to a blood/breath alcohol test 1 year
Two charges of reckless driving committed within 12 months 1 year
Attempting to obtain a license/learner permit under false pretense 1 year
Fail to yield right of way when entering an intersection, turning at a stop/yield sign, entering a roadway, upon approach of an emergency vehicle or at a highway construction or maintenance area when the offense results in serious bodily injury 90 days and $500 fine

Out-of-State Conviction

Convictions occurring outside NC may result in license being suspended/revoked just as if the violations occurred in this state. If suspension occurs, the Division must notify you by correspondence of the effective date of the suspension.

Provisional Licensee (Under age 18)

If you are a provisional licensee, your license may be suspended for:

  • 30 days, upon conviction of a second moving violation occurring within a 12-month period
  • 90 days, upon conviction of a third moving violation occurring within a 12-month period; and
  • Six months, upon conviction of a fourth moving violation occurring within a 12-month period.

Driver License Restoration

NC law requires that a restoration fee of $65 be paid to the DMV before a suspension/revocation can be cleared. A $130 restoration fee is required when the revocation results from a DWI conviction. Also, a service fee of $50 is required upon restoration of a revoked/suspended DL unless the license was surrendered to the court or mailed to the DMV before the effective date of the suspension/revocation.

For the Reinstatement of your driving privilege:

  • Visit any DL office
  • Provide proof of identity
  • Pay a restoration and/or service fee
  • Reply for DL
  • Take required tests (if applicable)
  • Provide proof of ins. (if required), and
  • Pay for new license issuance.

Referenced by NC DMV and N.C.G.S. 58-36-65 and 58-36-75.

Let's talk

At the Law Office of Tony Huynh, you will get my devoted professional law services at an affordable rate.